About Camping Contacts Memories News Schedule Support Annual Fall Gathering 100 Year Anniversary Find more about Weather at Old Kia Kima
Board of Directors

2016 – 2018

President: Boyd Billingsley - Eagle scout, Sr. Vice President Harris McHaney Realtors, BSBA University of Arkansas, Navy SEAL. Co- founder of Fellowship Bible Church Northwest Arkansas. Former Vice President Cooper Communities Inc. Recipient of the Old Kia Kima Excellence in Leadership Award.

Vice-President: Dennis Cain - Eagle Scout. Vigil Member Order of the Arrow, KKSR Staff Member 1969-1974, 1976, 1978-1979, 1986, 1988, District Award of Merit, Silver Beaver, former Scoutmaster of Boy Scout Troop 240, Lead Teacher in the Division of Exceptional Children in the Memphis City Schools. Recipient of the Old Kia Kima Excellence in Leadership Award.

Treasurer: Alan Meierhoefer - Camper and Staff Member at Kamp Kia Kima. BS Rhodes College, MBA Western Carolina University and PhD Mississippi State University. Retired from Ahlstrom Specialty Paper Corporation and currently a technology consultant for specialty chemical, fiber and paper companies. Active in Rotary Club and All Saints’ Episcopal Church in Frederick, Maryland.

Recording Secretary: Ron Naro - Eagle Scout, recipient of the God and Country award. Former member and adult leader with Troop 3 of Pendleton Presbyterian Church. Vigil Honor member of the Order of the Arrow. Lodge Chief of Chickasah Lodge and instructor at the National OA Conference. Camper and staff member KKSR 1964-1972. Retired Executive with Union Pacific Railroad with 40 years of service.

Corresponding Secretary: Pat Moody - Volunteer with Girl Scouts Heart of the South council. Currently serving on the Community Advisory Board and Property Committee. Past President of the Board of Directors, Senior Troop Committees. Volunteer with the National Kidney Foundation. President of the Tennessee Assoc. of Craft Artists (TACA).

Immediate Past President: Jimmy Bottrell - Eagle Scout, Vigil member Order of the Arrow, God and country, Ordained Minister of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) Author of church camp curriculums, developer of resources for youth ministry, program administrator for church camps, Senior Minister, Belton Christian Church, Belton, Missouri.

2016 – 2019

Jim Fly: Eagle Scout, Vigil Honor of the Order of the Arrow, KKSR member 1969-1973, 1977. BSME Tennessee Technological University, Senior Engineer with Alabama Power Company in Birmingham. Committee Member of Troop 97 of the Grater Alabama Council.

Suzanne Hilton Miller (Studley): Camper, Staff Member and Waterfront Director (Canoeing) Director at Camp Miramichee 1955-1968. Member of Miramichee Sisterhood. BS University of Tennessee, MS University of Missouri, PhD-Candidate University of Michigan and PhD Oregon State University. Senior Partner at VACO Risk Solutions.

Michael Spiotta: From Memphis, TN. Louisiana State University School Of Architecture 1972-1974, Memphis State University Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology 1974-1976, married in 1975 to Ann Stevenson Spiotta with 2 children and 1 grandchild, partner / operator at BBS Architectural Millwork Inc. 1980-2011, retired 2011. Volunteers at the National Ornamental Metal Museum. Hobbies include woodworking, furniture design and metal casting.

Richard Wertz: Eagle Scout, Vigil Honor Order of the Arrow, camper at KKSR in late 1960's, KKSR staff in 1970 and 1975, Philmont Staff 1971 to 1974, BME at Memphis State University, retired as Unix computer administrator for the Federal government. Volunteers at the Memphis Zoo and Meeman-Shelby Forest State Park.

2015 – 2018

John Lauderdale: Camper and Staff Member at Kamp Kia Kima. KKSR Waterfront Staff 1971-1972. BBA Memphis State University 1980; BSBA Christian Brothers University 1997. Controller for Jimmy Gray Chevrolet, Inc. in Southaven, MS.

George Clarke: Eagle Scout. Vigil Member Order of the Arrow. St. George Award. Woodbadge. 45 consecutive years attendance (1967-2011) at Kia Kima (KKSR) as camper, staff member (1972-1980), adult leader. Silver Beaver award. Past Scoutmaster/current Assistant Scoutmaster - Troop 34, Chickasaw Council, Memphis TN. Senior Account Executive for Regions Insurance, Memphis, TN. Insurance Chairman Episcopal Diocese of West Tennessee. 2012 President – Professional Insurance Agents (PIA) of Memphis.

Mark Follis: Eagle Scout. Order of the Arrow. BS and MS - Univ. of Tennessee in agriculture and economics. Prior to earning PhD in Agroforestry from the Univ. of Florida lived and worked around the world for International Harvester Export Company. Currently own and operate a tree care company in Memphis oriented toward preservation.

Mark Kruger: Camper and staff member 1961-1965. Former troop committee member and merit badge counselor troop 122. Two trips leading scouts in the northern boundary waters in Canada. Retired Assistant Principal Rogers High School. B.S.B.A Education Univ. of Arkansas, M.Ed. University of Arkansas. Rogers, City Council 18 years, 6 years treasurer United Way, 6 years member Foundation Board Adult Development Center of Benton County, Member founding committee Northwest Arkansas Community College, member Rogers Visitors and Convention Bureau.

2014 – 2017

Frank Mund: Eagle Scout, Vigil Member of the Order of the Arrow, God and Country Award. Graduate of Overton High School in Memphis, TN and Memphis State University. Camper at old Kia Kima Main Camp 61, Slick Rock 62, 63, 64 and KKSR Camp Cherokee 65. Staff at KKSR 66 – 74 and 76. Retired Professional Scouter, 34 years; Ouachita Area Council, Hot Springs, Ark. (8 yrs) and Sam Houston Area Council, Houston, Texas (26 yrs). HOA Bd. Member and Treasurer, Tomball, Texas. BSA Southern Region, Area 2/3 National Camp Accreditation Team.

Don Kinkade: Former Troop 240 Committee member and Merit Badge counselor, Order of the Arrow, Woodbadge, Philmont Scout Reservation. Attended NWMCC, State Tech at Memphis. and University of Maryland. Retired Distribution Safety Manager at Kroger after thirty three years

Johnny Fletcher: Vigil Member Order of the Arrow, served in U.S. Army as a member of White House Communications Agency, BBA Memphis State University, President and CEO of Tri-State Auto Paint & Supply with locations in Southaven and Batesville, MS.

Fred Morton: Kia Kima Staff 1954-1957, Eagle Scout and Lodge Chief of OA 1957. Former Den Leader in Pack 269 and Committeeman in T-Bird District, Memphis. Retired United Methodist Minister

Additional information about Officer and Board Member history.

Honorary Directors

Miss Julia Hall: (1910 - 2003) Girl Scout Camp Kiwani camper, staff and Director (1924-1933) and YWCA Miramichee Camp Director (1939-1970).

Mrs. Winnie "Sunny" Carson: (1916 - 2007) Girl Scout Camp Kiwani camper, staff, and Director (1927-1959)

Mr. Stillman Ralph Young: (1924 - 2006) Scout Master Troop 35 Memphis, Tennessee (1947-1949); Professional Scout Executive Chickasaw Council (1951-1991), Camp Director of Old Kia Kima 1954-1956 and 1958-1963; and Camp Director of Kia Kima Scout Reservation (1964-1973).

Mrs. Boyce Woollard Billingsley: A beloved patron of Old Kia Kima and a childhood-to-adulthood summer-time (1940-1980’s) resident of the Hardy and Cherokee Village, Arkansas, where she had been a camper and staff member of the YWCA Miramichee girls camp.

Mr. Frederick T. Carney: (1916 - 2010)-- Scouter, Sailor, Lawyer. Spent a lifetime in Scouting, with 78 years as a registered BSA member.

Mr. Bill Dixon: (1922 - 2016) Camper, staff member and longtime supporter of Old Kia Kima.

Mr. Bobby Harriss: Pilot for Christ, Sunday School teacher, guardian of Old Kia Kima

Mr. Bobby Williams: (1932 - 2016) Beloved builder and keeper of Old Kia Kima.

Mr. Frank Simonton: Beloved staff member at Old Kia Kima, Director KKSR and so much more.